Awards and Accreditations for Cardiac Care

Legacy Health wants you to be your own health advocate.  We hope to make it easier for you by providing information on the quality of heart care you will receive from Legacy Health.

The following information is provided by various medical associations, official agencies and special interest groups that measure performance in health care quality and safety, specifically for cardiac care.

Heart Surgery

Legacy Health's cardiothoracic surgeons report to the Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS) each year on the quality of care provided to our heart surgery patients.  The STS is a nonprofit that represents more than 6,400 surgeons, researchers and related health professionals around the world.  The society collects outcomes data to improve quality and patient safety.  The STS has also developed quality performance measures for adult cardiac, general thoracic and congenital heart surgery.


The Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval® — In 2013 Legacy Good Samaritan was the first hospital in the nation to be awarded six cardiac certifications by The Joint Commission.  

The six disease-specific areas are:

  1. Cardiac surgery - valves
  2. Cardiac surgery - Coronary artery bypass graft
  3. Acute coronary syndrome (lack of blood flow to the heart)
  4. Acute myocardial infarction (heart attack)
  5. Heart failure
  6. Cardiac rehabilitation

Heart Attack Care

For the 5th consecutive year, Legacy Good Samaritan and our transferring hospitals and clinics (Legacy Meridian Park, Legacy Mount Hood, Legacy Salmon Creek, and Legacy St. Helen's Urgent Care Clinic) has received the American College of Cardiology's ACTION Registry-Get with the Guidelines Gold Performance Achievement Award for 2014 — one of only 55 hospitals nationwide to receive the honor.

The award recognizes Legacy Good Samaritan’s commitment and success in implementing a higher standard of care for heart attack patients and signifies that Good Samaritan has reached an aggressive goal, 98.8%, of treating these patients to standard levels of care as outlined by the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association clinical guidelines and recommendations (90% or better). 

mission lifeline logo

Legacy Good Samaritan has received the Mission: Lifeline® Gold Receiving Quality Achievement Award for implementing quality measures outlined by the American Heart Association for the treatment of patients who suffer severe heart attacks. This award program helps hospitals, emergency medical services and communities improve response times and streamline their systems of care to quickly get heart attack patients from the 9-1-1 call to hospital treatment.  This is an example of how Legacy works with other emergency responders to provide good health for our people, our patients and our community.


The Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval® — Legacy Good Samaritan is the first hospital in the nation to be awarded six cardiac certifications by The Joint Commission, including acute myocardial infarction (heart attack).

Chest Pain Care

Joint Commission gold seal

The Joint Commission has awarded Legacy Emanuel the disease-specific Gold Seal of Approval® certification for chest pain care. It is the first hospital in Multnomah County to receive this certification. this recognition is earned by demonstrating compliance with The Joint Commission's national standards for health care quality and safety in disease-specific care.

Legacy Meridian Park is the first hospital in the nation to be awarded the new disease-specific Gold Seal of Approval® for chest pain from The Joint Commission. The chest pain certification is new for The Joint Commission as it combines the disease-specific certifications for both acute myocardial infarction (heart attack) and acute coronary syndrome (lack of blood flow to the heart).

Echocardiography Seal_75

Legacy Good Samaritan has received the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) accreditation in Echocardiography. The accreditation demonstrates an unmatched commitment to provide quality cardiac diagnostic evaluations in the following testing areas:  adult transthoracic; adult transesophageal; and, adult stress. The accreditation ensures that Legacy Good Samaritan provides high quality patient care and demonstrates a long-term commitment to quality and self-assessment.