Manage your account, request prescriptions, set up appointments & more.

Don't have an account
Contact Us

Legacy Good Samaritan Tops the Nation in Number of Cardiac Certifications

The Joint Commission awards the Northwest Portland-based hospital with the most cardiac certifications in the country and becomes fourth in the country to be certified in 12 disease-specific areas

(Portland, Ore. – May 28, 2013) Legacy Good Samaritan Medical Center announced today it has earned The Joint Commission’s (TJC) Gold Seal of Approval™ in 12 disease-specific areas, including six in cardiac care; primary stroke treatment; four orthopedic areas; and spine surgery. Legacy Good Samaritan is first in the nation to be awarded Disease-Specific Care Certification in six cardiac areas and fourth in the nation to be awarded in 12 disease-specific areas altogether. Specifically, the Northwest Portland-based hospital earned certification in the following areas:

1. Acute coronary syndrome (lack of blood flow to the heart)
2. Acute myocardial infarction (heart attack)
3. Heart failure
4. Cardiac rehabilitation
5. Cardiac surgery – valves
6. Cardiac surgery – coronary artery bypass graft
7. Stroke
8. Total Knee
9. Total Hip
10. Total Shoulder
11. Spine
12. Hip Fracture

The 12 programs were certified for demonstrating a commitment to physician involvement, patient satisfaction, quality outcomes, patient education, community education, and comprehensive discharge instructions, among others.

“Earning the Gold Seal of Approval™ in 12 areas across the hospital is a testament to the strength of Legacy Good Samaritan’s multidisciplinary team and comprehensive approach to patient care,” said Tony Melaragno, M.D., Chief Administrative Officer of Legacy Good Samaritan. “Undergoing an intense month-long review by some of the nation’s most sophisticated surveyors is no easy undertaking but the results clearly convey Legacy Good Samaritan’s commitment to these programs that improve and save lives throughout the community.”

Legacy Good Samaritan earned the 12 disease-specific care certifications after undergoing a rigorous series of voluntary three-day onsite surveys in April 2013. During this time, TJC expert surveyors evaluated Legacy Good Samaritan for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of patients and families and traced patient care across the 12 departments.

About The Joint Commission

TJC evaluates, accredits and certifies more than 19,000 health care organizations in the United States. An independent, not-for-profit organization, TJC is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and evaluation body in health care. TJC has 60 years of recognized and respected excellence and expertise in evaluating clinical care quality in all types of provider settings. Joint Commission Disease-Specific Care Certification was established in 2002, and today has been achieved by more than 2,000 clinical care programs nationwide.